SAVE SUTTON COLDFIELD LIBRARY! LOBBY YOUR TOWN COUNCILLORS TUESDAY 25 APRIL

We are asking you to lobby the councillors of Sutton Coldfield Town Council at this month’s council meeting, at which the future of Sutton Coldfield Library will again be discussed. The issues will include a decision as to whether to confirm the release of Town Council funds to support the library.

Earlier in the year the town council agreed to provide £150K as a contribution to a library service funded by Birmingham City Council. In March it released just £30K, with the remainder to be reviewed at this month’s meeting in the light of progress by Birmingham City Council (BCC) on the work needed to set up the Red Rose Centre for the library service. This includes building/refurbishment work and letting the second floor.

The negotiations between the two councils are at a critical stage. It will strengthen the Town Council’s hand if you confirm that you support the use of Town Council funds (your money) as a contribution to the continuation of a library service funded by Birmingham City Council.

So please give the Town Council your encouragement and support. If you went to the March lobby, or e-mailed your councilors, please do so again to show that the high level of public support demonstrated in rallies, petitions and representations to councillors remains strong.

The Council meets at Sutton Coldfield Town Hall, Upper Clifton Rd, Sutton Coldfield B73 6AB. The lobby will start at 6 p.m. outside the hall; the meeting starts at 7 p.m.

IF YOU CAN’T ATTEND THE LOBBY: e-mail your own town councillors, and the three councillors who are on the negotiating team – and all the others if you wish. E-addresses are below. Please send copies to FoLoB (address below). E-mail FoLoB if you would like to receive updates on Sutton Coldfield and the other community libraries and on the implementation of the new, reduced model for libraries which will be introduced from 1 April.

Friends of The Libraries of Birmingham
Website:  https://birminghamlibrariescampaigns.wordpress.com
email:  friendsoflibraryofbirmingham@gmail.com
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/friendsofthelob
Twitter:  @folob_

SUTTON COLDFIELD TOWN COUNCILLORS

Trinity
Claire.Bennett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Maria.Hewett@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Charlotte.Hodivala@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Ewan.Mackey@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk ON TOWN COUNCIL LIBRARY NEGOTIATING TEAM
David.Pears@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk    ON TOWN COUNCIL LIBRARY NEGOTIATING TEAM
Keith.Ward@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

New Hall
Leeford.Allen@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Joanne.Ellis@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Derrick.Griffin@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Rachel.Okello@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
John.Perks@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Terry.Wood@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

Vesey
Janet.Cairns@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Paul.Long@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Liz.Parry@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Louise.Passey@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Rob.Pocock@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Manish.Puri@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk

Four Oaks
David.Allan@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Clare.Horrocks@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Christopher.Ives@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Owen.Jenkins@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Jane.Mosson@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk
Simon.Ward@SuttonColdfieldTownCouncil.gov.uk ON TOWN COUNCIL LIBRARY NEGOTIATING TEAM

PS If you are intending to watch the debate on Tuesday, please arrive early to ensure that you get in.

 

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s